Salad dressings made healthy!

I’m very fortunate to have some really spectacular people in my life. I’ve got friends across the country and world that encourage me on a daily basis, and I encourage them. Earlier this week I was talking with a good friend of mine, Danny, when he was explaining how he had an extremely hectic morning and had made a bad food choice.

Danny: I’ve been running around so much since 8 am. All I had for breakfast was a candy bar and a soda, not typical of me at all.

Elsie: Food is fuel not comfort. A candy bar and soda is like LITERALLY pouring sugar into your gas tank on your car. *bops* Next time we eat on the run we grab fruit, nuts and water.

Danny: I know, I know. It’s been the morning from hell with the director being almost a literal hamster on a wheel.

Elsie: HASHTAGNOEXCUSES Excuses enable us to revert back to our old ways ❤

Danny: You’re absolutely right. Salad for dinner.

We got to talking about salads and it occurred to me that I had not shared my ranch recipe with him. When Brittany and I started eating healthier we began toying with different substitutions when it came to our favorite foods. At the top of the list was ranch. I can eat ranch on everything. No, really, everything. If you could cover it ranch, I would. I would smother it until it became ranch with a side of pizza crust. Oh yeah, that was a thing, and I refuse to believe that none of the other fat people of the world don’t do this.

While I gave up my now seemingly revolting habit of drowning everything in ranch, I still find myself enjoying it with a large variety of foods such as salads and fresh vegetables. Through trial and error Brittany and I really perfected a much healthier version of our favorite comfort food. You can find the recipe below along with a YouTube video demonstration.

Greek Yogurt Ranch

1/2 c Plain Greek Yogurt 1/2 c Skim Milk 1 tbsp Light or Olive Oil Mayonnaise* 1 1/2 tbsp Ranch Seasoning Cracked Black Pepper

In a bowl combine plain greek yogurt, mayonnaise, skim milk, ranch seasoning, and some cracked black pepper. Whisk it all together and store in a resealable container

Image

The nutritional information given was established based on our use of Hidden Valley ranch seasoning, Kirkland brand greek yogurt, and Kraft reduced fat olive oil mayonnaise. Depending on the brand you use, your figures may differ slightly.

I imagine most people grew up like me, eating bottled salad dressings. Some are hit, and some are miss, but none of the, give you any control over things like sodium levels, fat content, or taste. Often times, when dieting before, I would get bored of salads because they begin to feel like what my friends refer to salad as: “rabbit food”. So, we were determined to make salad delicious again. Ok, for the first time, but who’s counting?

In addition, to the Greek Yogurt Ranch, we wanted to share another option with you that we make frequently in our house, Italian Dressing. I’ve never been a fan of the bottled version, but I’m quite the fan of our home made dressing. It’s simple, with fairly common ingredients, and whips up quickly.

Citrus Italian Vinaigrette

Juice of half of a lemon, 1 tbsp Olive Oil, 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning, 1/4 tsp Mrs Dash seasoning, 1/4 tsp granulated garlic, Sea salt, Cracked black pepper

In a bowl combine italian seasoning, Mrs. Dash, granulated garlic, olive oil and a sprinkle of sea salt and cracked black pepper to taste, Whisk it all together and store in a resealable container

Image

Thanks for the read! We hope you enjoyed yourself! Make sure to “like” us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter, and subscribe here, on WordPress!

Like us on Facebook to keep up to date: facebook.com/todiscovertoday

Follow us on Twitter: @ToDiscoverToday

One response to “Salad dressings made healthy!

  1. Pingback: Change is Upon Us | To Discover Today·

Leave a Reply

